Kundalini Yoga for Beginners

Kundalini Yoga for Beginners

Article by Sarah Russell

Kundalini Yoga has been called the most powerful type of yoga, and the mother of all yoga styles. This type of yoga seeks to awaken a powerful point located at the base of the spine, called the Muladhara Chakra. Kundalini derives from a Sanskrit word: “kunda”, which means “pot”. It utilizes Kundalini Sadhna, the energy coiled like a serpent three and a half times around the base of the spine. Each of the three coils of Kundalini Yoga has a name. They are known as the three Gunas: Sattva, Tamas, and Rajas. The half coil is the Vikritis.

The region of the body referred to as the Kundalini region is located in different areas in men and women. In males, the Kundalini is located in the perineum, between the anus and testicles. In women, it’s located between the vagina and clitoris.Kundalini yoga is a symbol of power and equality for both sexes, although each energy is said to be different. Masculine power is called Siva, while feminine power is referred to as Sakti. These powers form the elemental source of all energy when united. Although the Kundalini region is located near the genitals, this is not where that union occurs. Instead, it happens in the brain, and is said to be the source of affection and other feelings, love, and energy. Kundalini Yoga is thought to help eliminate negative feelings like jealousy, anger, depression and sorrow.

Kundalini Yoga is said to reward people who maintain their awareness, helping them to undergo a spiritual transformation. When this energy is awakened, it’s believed to produce a hissing sound, much like a serpent, as it moves from the Muladhara Chakra, to the Brahma Nadi, and then to the Sahasrara Chakra. Kundalini Yoga was introduced by Yogi Bhajan, in 1969, and includes mantras, meditation, breathing exercises, and classic yoga asanas. It’s important to remember that Kundalini Yoga, despite its name, doesn’t focus solely on the Kundalini poses. It also includes a heavy emphasis on breath and chant.

Kundalini Yoga’s primary target is the nervous system, via the spinal cord. The theory is that the nervous system provides the primary controls for our bodies. This makes it responsible for our imaginations, intelligence, memories and thoughts. It’s made up of our brain and the nerves, the most important of which is the spinal cord. Because this cord is composed of delicate tissues, it’s important to have the correct care for it. Kundalini Yoga attempts to give the spinal cord this kind of care.

While it’s possible to learn about the awakening of Kundalini energy through books and other information, having a good teacher is much more effective. Mastering Kundalini awakening should come from experience. After a series of trials, this awakening will take place. Just be careful not to be overly focused on getting this result, since that can hinder the actual awakening. Focusing your concentration is the best way to experience the health and spiritual benefits of Kundalini Yoga. Find a teacher and learn this fascinating technique as soon as you can.

About the Author

Want to learn more about how yoga can change your life? Check out Sarah Russell’s new book – The Beginner’s Guide to Yoga and Meditation – at:


Random Posts:

Tags: , ,
Previous Post

The Five Faces Of Westner Yoga

Next Post

Standard Exercise And Training Variables

Leave a Reply